It’s “Bring Your Dog to Work Day!”

company_collage_blogreadyThis week, we’ve been making grooming arrangements, tidying up any cords, putting away the sharpies and laying out the chew toys for a special group of stakeholders we enjoy making Central New York livable for: our pets! This year we are celebrating Take Your Dog to Work day in honor of our animal-loving staff members and the charitable beliefs of the pets in our lives. Yes, our pets believe in charitable giving too!

There’s an army of paw-loving champions participating in national Take Your Dog to Work day. We’ve pulled together donated items and rallied up everyone for our Denim Friday charity pot to raffle away our efforts to two loving charities here in Central New York. Though all of our pets at the office have nominated charities they care about, the dogs will be at the office volunteering their time and energy as well. We have never been more excited!

This is our first year participating in the 16-year-old tradition started by Pet Sitters International (PSI) in 1999 to “celebrate the great companions dogs make and encourage their adoptions.” Throughout the day, you can follow our twitter hash-tag #cnycfdoggies to meet our dogs, learn about their charities of choice and see which charities will win our raffle for pet supplies and a small donation.

Meet the Pets of CNYCF!

dogs_cnycf_titles_4

cats_cnycf_labels

Ollie is Yorkie Poodle and loves Helping Hounds!

I love to go on walks but get tired so easily they usually end up in my mom carrying me home. I also have girlfriend named Maggie who lives across the street. She’s a Shih Tzu!

I chose Helping Hounds because they take unwanted, neglected, abused or homeless dogs, and provide them with emotional, medical, behavioral and physical support so they can be adopted into loving, permanent homes.

Lilly is Domestic Shorthair and loves CNY Cat Coalition!

I love to sit on anything my family is trying to read: magazines, newspapers, books, and the computer keyboard! You name it and I will sit on it.

I chose CNY Cat Coalition because their mission is to change the world for homeless and “at risk” cats in Central New York…four paws at a time.

Roo is Domestic Shorthair and loves the CNY Humane Society!

I love to go for walks with my brother Ollie but I don’t think Ollie likes that he has to wear a leash and I don’t!

I chose CNY Humane Society because they serve as a no-kill, not-for-profit animal shelter, whose mission is to find loving homes for the animals that need them.

Casey T. is a Terrier Mix and loves the Paradise Garden Animal Haven!

I love to sleep in the big bed, under the covers with my head on the pillow. I tend to go ballistic when I see or hear school buses. They are big monsters that eat children up in the morning and spit them out in the afternoon!

I love Paradise Garden Animal Haven because they give pets a safe and comfortable place to live until they can find them a home forever.

Shadow is a chocolate Labrador and loves the CNY SPCA!

I can play dead except for my tail. When my owner cuddles me, he hogs my bed. Chocolate M&M’s and Chocolate Labs don’t mix and I like cats!

I chose the CNY SPCA! Their sole purpose is to improve overall look, safety for staff and potential adopters, reduce the spread of disease and an improved comfortable atmosphere for the animals while in our care.

Duncan is a Welsh Corgi Pembroke and loves the American Farmland Trust!

I love jumping into lakes! It usually happens before I realize that my short little legs and thick fur aren’t ideal for swimming! I always do it again though 🙂

My herding instincts lead me to choose American Farmland Trust! I feel very strongly about preserving my favorite pastime! American Farmland Trust is the only national conservation organization dedicated to protecting farmland, promoting sound farming practices, and keeping farmers on the land.

Chloe is a Shih Tzu and loves CNY Cat Coalition!

I was rescued from a puppy mill by my friends at Wags and I love to sleep on mom and dad’s bed!

I love my friend Romeo the house cat so I chose CNY Cat Coalition. Their mission is to change the world for homeless and “at risk” cats in Central New York…four paws at a time.

Riley is a Golden Retriever and loves Golden Retriever Rescue of Central New York!

I have my own thundershirt and I’m not afraid to use it! My favorite place is our camp, where I can roam to visit my best friends – two basset hounds named Esther and Otis – and dip in the lake to cool off.

Golden Retriever Rescue of Central New York, Inc. (GRRCNY) is an all-volunteer, full service Golden Retriever rescue program.  Their mission is to provide re-homing services to purebred Golden Retrievers and to help the public be informed about the care and training needs of this breed.

Lucy is a Beagle and loves Greyhound Outreach!

I can snort out any human! I have a little sister named Marcy, but she’s a little too much of a maniac to come to the office. She’s known for breaking into the fridge and I’d be afraid that she would steal everyone’s lunches! My life goals include: catching a squirrel in the backyard, mastering the art of ‘puppy eyes’, writing the next great American novel (Ha-ha, kidding – I’m already a pro at giving ‘puppy eyes’).

In honor of my best friend, Olive-the Greyhound, my charity is Greyhound Outreach. Greyhound Outreach is dedicated to educating the public about what wonderful pet these dogs make! Affectionate, gentle, and clean, the loving greyhound is a fantastic companion.

Frankie is a Black Labrador and loves Clear Path for Veterans!

Frankie is a social butterfly.  He loves people, other dogs, car rides and road trips!

Clear Path helps veterans, military members and their families by providing a myriad programs and services to make this happen like their Pet Therapy program!

Rufus is a Terrier Chihuahua mix and loves Helping Hounds!

Rufus is a newly adopted pup and enjoys his new family! He also has a new fetish for rabbit droppings! Rufus!

Helping Hounds mission is “to take unwanted, neglected, abused or homeless dogs, and provide them with emotional, medical, behavioral and physical support so they can be adopted into loving, permanent homes.”

Sullivan is a Rottweiler and loves Wanderers Rest!

If you come and visit my house and take off your shoes, I will pick them up and give them back to you. I love the snow! I am named after Sullivan from Monsters, Inc. and like him I look mean but I am really a gentle giant.

Wanderers Rest is where my best friend was until my parents rescued him too! Their mission is to be the sole open admissions dog and cat shelter in Madison County which is dedicated to providing the highest quality care and compassion for the animals entrusted to them. They strive to enhance adoptability, and re-homing adoptable animals at the highest rate possible, while educating and leading our community in creating a more humane society.

Bones is a Rhodesian Ridgeback and Wanderers Rest as well!

I am very nervous and a lot of things make me anxious, especially thunderstorms. My mom bought me the “thundershirt” – I love it so much I will wear it even when it is sunny outside. I was very skinny when I was adopted so when my family was deciding on a name they thought “Bones” suited me best.

Wanderers Rest is where my best friend was until my parents rescued him too! Their mission is to be the sole open admissions dog and cat shelter in Madison County which is dedicated to providing the highest quality care and compassion for the animals entrusted to them. They strive to enhance adoptability, and re-homing adoptable animals at the highest rate possible, while educating and leading our community in creating a more humane society.

Percy is a Ragdoll Cat and loves CNY Food Bank!

I am a big cat that thinks I am a dog.  Sullivan is my best friend. The vet said I am an overeater, but I think I just have big bones!

I don’t think anyone should ever be hungry! The Food Bank serves to eliminate hunger through nutritious food distribution, education and advocacy in cooperation with the community.

Moe Money is a Siberian Cat and loves CNY Humane Society!

I enjoy being walked around the yard, lying in dirt, hiding in bushes, and eating/stealing deli meat. I kind of have a blind eye and a snaggle tooth but I am a friend to squirrels and chipmunks alike!

This is my Alma mater! They serve as a no-kill, not-for-profit animal shelter, whose mission is to find loving homes for the animals that need them.

Skipper is a Labradoodle and loves Helping Hounds!

My full name is Skipper Marie Jackson-Hewitt Griffith aka Big Fat Dog! I’m 7 ½ years old and was born in Northwestern Ohio.  I go to k-9 camp weekly dog daycare in East Syracuse. I can be a bit shy when getting to know you, but once you are a confirmed petter, I will nudge you incessantly for more. I love long walks on the beach (or in the neighborhood) and my favorite food is eukanuba. Oh, and I really like napping!

Helping Hounds mission is “to take unwanted, neglected, abused or homeless dogs, and provide them with emotional, medical, behavioral and physical support so they can be adopted into loving, permanent homes.”

Moonie is a Domestic Shorthair and loves Recycle-a-Bull Bully Breed!

Moonie loves attention! So much so that he gets jealous when visitors don’t rub his belly!

Moonie loves dogs and his favorite visitor volunteers with pit bulls so I want to support her cause! Recycle a Bull Bully Breed’s mission is to rescue and rehome neglected, abandoned, abused and unwanted pit bulls and pit bull mix dogs in the CNY area.

Little One is a Domestic Shorthair and loves Cuse Pit Crew!

Little One enjoys playing fetch, being patted on the head and praying on Sunday mornings!

Little One enjoys Michelle (favorite visitor) too so he’s making his charity her volunteer charity: Cuse Pit Crew. They work to “Refuel the Human-Animal Connection” in the City of Syracuse through community outreach and educational programming, while advocating for pit bulls and other misunderstood breeds.

Itsy Bitsy is a Domestic Shorthair and loves CNY Cat Coalition!

Itsy was rescued and almost not given up for adoption because he was too badly nourished. Four years later he is strong and playful as ever!

Itsy chose CNY cat coalition for the great work they do. Their mission is to change the world for homeless and “at risk” cats in Central New York…four paws at a time.

Peter is Domestic Shorthair and loves Kitty Corner of CNY!

Peter is a grand-paw (lol) and enjoys hiding in linens and in dresser drawers!

Peter has so many grand kitties he feels it’s safer out there with groups like Kitty Corner CNY. They have volunteers who provide shelter, veterinary care and a chance for a new life in a loving home — for cats who have been abandoned or who never had a home at all due to the overwhelming number of homeless pets.

 

Leave a Reply

